McGuinty Liberals to subsidize foreign students on our money!

Memo to the Dalton McGuinty Liberal government. It is not your money!!!! Tax dollars that were contributed by the people of Ontario are for the people of Ontario. Yet, the Dalton McGuinty Liberals are about to spend $30 million Ontario tax dollars to lure and subsidize foreign doctoral students to Ontario universities. Think about that for a minute. What kind of message does that send to Ontario families who are racking up debt to send their kids to college and university?

Well, Ontario PC Leader Tim Hudak is right, the message and the policy are just plain wrong.

H/T Simeon (Sam) Drakich.

15 thoughts on “McGuinty Liberals to subsidize foreign students on our money!

  1. Thank you so much for picking up on this story. I’ve been firing off emails all day since Richco posted it on Joanne’s blog. I don’t suppose there is any way to undo this since it’s already been pledged in a foreign country, but it still is very maddening when my grandchildren are struggling with tuition and few summer jobs.

    Like

  2. McGuinty is doing what the unions demand in hopes of winning one more time. Give our CANADIAN kids a break, we have lots of talent right here at home. Look at all the universities, most of the PhD’s are foreign already, they are taking up spots our kids should be getting, but universities are all about diversity, so it’s okay to hire foreigners over our own Canadian citizens, as a matter of fact, it is encouraged.

    Like

  3. And when Tory wanted to fund all Ontario schools this ignorant bastard and his party were all against it. McGuinty, you and your bunch are liars.

    [Edited by blog administrator.]

    Like

  4. One would hope there are lots of very capable young Ontario graduate students deserving of the chance to be among the “best and the brightest in the world”. Do we really have to look abroad for deserving candidates?

    Like

  5. This policy would be inexplicable coming from anyone other than McGuinty, with him it is unsurprising.
    If it is true that Ont. has “some of the best universities in the world”, then why wouldn’t students be lining up to study here, without scholarships?
    Contrast this with Quebec policy of massively subsidizing provincial students, with reduced tuition, while treating all other Canadians as foreigners. At least they have their priorities right.
    The problem in Ont. is certainly not lack of qualified students, but that thousands graduate each year with llittle prospect of meaningful employment. This is particularly true in the social sciences and teaching programs. Many of my daughters class of 7 years ago are still struggling with low paying contract jobs. Many of these people return to school for further degrees, going ever further in debt for their education. In a sense it is these people and their parents who would be subsidizing foreign students to study here.
    Charity begins at home, a concept totally lost on McGuinty, this is just one more reason to terminate this inept government in one year’s time.

    Like

  6. Right on Martin. I went the doctoral student route two and a half decades ago. And, financially it was tough sledding. You had to be a “resident” for two years and couldn’t work more than 16 hours a week — and even with those rules you had to live within 100 K (which I was being in Niagara). So, there is the lost income issue.

    And, yes I got a graduate scholarship for both years but that was based on marks and the number of publications I had under my belt and was certainly not enough to live on if you were single. And, yes, I had an assistantship each year — which involved helping professors with “their” research. But that assistantship was 15 hours a week, which meant the time left over was for courses and assignments. In fact, in my third and last year I worked full time while doing my thesis research and writing the report. How nice it would have been to not have had to work at all during those years. Much credit goes to my partner as he basically subsidized and supported me in every way possible.

    Which only highlights how bizarre the McGuinty government’s priorities are.

    My guess is this is just an attempt to buy votes from Chinese immigrants who might bring the offspring of relatives over here to take advantage of this taxpayers largess. However, in my opinion, it won’t work because they will see right through this, what is essentially, a bribe.

    Like

  7. As some have already stated. There are many students here in Canada that can take these positions. They do not need more competition. Furthermore, there is already so many educated individuals without jobs.

    Like

  8. Pingback: McGuinty gov’t to give foreign students $40,000 a year!!!!!!! « Sandy Crux's Blog

  9. Pingback: McGuinty gov’t to give foreign students $40k a year! | Jack's Newswatch

  10. This latest atrosity by the priemier of ontario is the worst of all. Why did my my Grandfather in world war one and my father and two uncles in world war two shed blood for this country? Thank god they didn’t live to see the day this man would make his own people second class citizens. What do I tell my son and daughter, that owe thousands of dollars to pay off former student loans. It doesn’t matter that your ancestors have been in this country before confederation and fought to keep it free. You are now second class citizens.

    [Edited by blog administrator.]

    Like

  11. John S. My grandfather gave his life for this country in WWI and my father was badly wounded in WWII, but I am certain they would want me to focus my anger on the politicians, not on certain groups of people. In other words, I don’t want our tax money going to any foreign students, no matter where they are from. As such, I had to edit your comment.

    Like

  12. There isn’t much to say about this that hasn’t already been said. As a student who is about to graduate from highschool however, I would love to believe that the work I have put in these last few years to improve my chances of admission to a decent school could be coupled with the knowledge that my government cares at all about the fact that the financial realities may make this dream impossible.

    Like

  13. Andrew — I hope you look into OSAP and Opportunity Grants. I left a link on the other thread about the subsidy being $40,000. I’ll drop it here as soon as I save this comment.
    Now, depending on where you apply, there are grants and scholarships you can apply for. The irony is that it is the students from families who have little or no debt that get shafted with OSAP. In fact, the more debt your parents have, or you have, the better. I personally know of families who paid off their mortgage and now their children don’t qualify, particularly given that I’ll bet the students from China won’t have to jump through those hoops. Can you just imagine the media firestorm if the McGuinty government was Progressive Conservative. Double and triple standards for sure.

    Anyway, whatever you do, apply to several schools and as many funding sources as you can access. I recently helped a young fellow apply for a special grant at a community college — in his second year in aeronautics. There was a lot of paper work but worth it in the end as his application was accepted for $3000 for each of his second and third years. The key was a short essay on the fact that he was the first in his immigrant family to attend post-secondary. He wrote in a very passionate way and I guess that tipped the scales on his behalf — plus he had a good editor. 😉 Later, he told his mother that I had add some “teacher-talk.” I had never heard that term before but, hey, if the teacher-talk worked, that’s the main thing.

    Good luck and thank you for leaving a comment. I don’t intend to let this topic go. I will write about it every other day over the next few weeks until Ontario students are either treated equally, or the program is cancelled.

    Like

Comments are closed.