McGuinty gov’t to give foreign students $40,000 a year!

Ontario PC Leader Tim Hudak just released a tweet that he is going to be on the Lowell Green radio show this afternoon (CFRA). The topic of course, is the McGuinty Liberal government’s foreign students subsidy program — which I wrote about yesterday.  Well,  it is turning out to be much worse than we initially thought.  The program is not just about subsidizing or helping out, it is about fully supporting the international students to the tune of $40,000 a year. Can you believe that? It’s absolutely outrageous and a clear misuse of public money, bordering on mismanagement. We cannot afford the Dalton McGuinty crew for another year. This is about vote-buying and they need to be stopped.

C/P Jack’s Newswatch.

19 thoughts on “McGuinty gov’t to give foreign students $40,000 a year!

  1. Pingback: McGuinty gov’t to give foreign students $40k a year! | Jack's Newswatch

    • Jo — It’s one of those issues that is hitting the fan and it looks good on McGuinty, he with the condescending smirk. If he keeps the policy, he knows he will definitely lose in a year from now. If he cancels it, he will annoy the Chinese in China, as well as Chinese-Canadians who live in Ontario — who would likely bring the children of relatives here just for this reason. The reality is that some young people in this province don’t even make $40,000 tax free a year. You’d think we had extra money in our coffers, yet we already have a $20 billion deficit.

      I am livid about this. I know how $40,000 a year would have helped me and my family. Yet, given the two year residence requirement for a doctorate, I lost income for two years. I was lucky in that my husband and kids supported me, along with scholarships and assistantships I had to earn through high marks and getting scholarly articles published.

      And, then there are all those parents who are struggling right now to pay their children’s tuition and living costs.

      Like

  2. Instead of using this money on international students, it should be invested in anything else. Such as subsidized housing or making more spots in Ontario’s Med Schools. Would other countries provide 40k scholarship for Canadian students? I don’t think so.

    Like

  3. You are right about the interpretation. Hudak will be characterized in the minority communities as Xenophobic, provincial, not very sophisticated, with a failure to understand that this is a loss-leader to encourage many more international students to choose Ontario and upgrade our status to a world class Harvard-Oxford level. Hudak will look like he just fell of the turnip truck and he doesn’t need that.

    Like

  4. I think this one will hit him even harder than the eco tax.

    There are so many families here, who pay taxes here, who are sacrificing so much to educate their kids in spite of all the high taxes imposed upon them and the high rates for all the necessities we need to survive in this province. It’s almost too much to believe, more like a nightmare really, that the man could even consider such a thing given the dire straights the province is in.

    Wonder if he can tell us through his “condescending smirk” just how this is of benefit to the have-not province of Ontario and the taxpaying public?

    If he’s not crazy he’s sure driving the rest of us to that state with stuff like this. Is there no end to his stupid ideas?

    Like

  5. Get the letters going to your MPP, Tim Hudak and Jim Wilson on this matter. Jim is the education critic and we can thank him for getting this out. I emailed them all yesterday and have only heard back from Tim, which was likely just a standard “got your email” letter. tim.hudak@pc.ola.org and jim.wilsonco@pc.ola.org
    Is there anyone else Sandy that we should be emailing.

    Like

    • Actually Ruth, I believe Elizabeth Witmer is the Education Critic but thankfully Jim Wilson is the point man on this issue because he is very vocal. I saw a Tweet awhile back that I replied to that this is all about vote buying. But, I disagree with Doug about seeming provincial. We do not have an Oxford here and, the last I heard, everyone who goes to Oxford pays their way unless they have a very much in-demand specialization. In a case like that, it is not the local government who pays the subsidies, it is either the university and/or the alumni foundation. Big difference. No tax dollars are at stake.

      Like

  6. Sorry about that, Elizabeth is good too. I read somewhere that Jim was Education, but obviously that article was incorrect. Hope I didn’t offend Elizabeth Witmer and so glad you corrected me Sandy.

    Like

  7. This is way beyond outrageous, it is just senseless. Dalton McGuinty wants to play at being Cecil Rhodes, but using other people’s money.
    These students after graduation, would have an inside road on immigration and permanent jobs, all at the expense of Ont. taxpayers.

    Like

  8. I think you do not have to worry about the Chinese community, after all they pay taxes here as well. Also having just spent 7yrs in China the ones sending their kids to uni in other countries are very rich and certainly do not need the money.

    Like

  9. I suspect most members of the “minority community” are far more sophisticated than some here claim them to be. No doubt this is more about him confusing his POV with that of a far more diverse and thoughtful group

    Like

  10. so the ontario education premier is making it harder for current hs grads in ontario to go onto post-secondary education while making it easier for non-ontario residing candidates to do the same?

    Like

    • You got that right Tori. Nice to hear from you again — it’s been a very long time! I have been blogging five years in January and you were a regular between 2006 and 2008 if I remember right. Hope you stop by again soon.

      Like

    • By the way Tori and others, the reason there are changes with this blog is because I found it too much work to manage two separate blogs. Plus, I found things on the education blog were getting nasty. So, I decided to combine them again but with a slight difference. I won’t be publishing anything more about practice. I’ll simply leave what I have done out there on the search engines. What I will do is write about issues like this, issues that are essentially political.

      The other person I haven’t heard from in a very long time is SOR. She came east in the spring of 2009, we had lunch together and then she went back to B.C and got real busy I guess. I hope she is well.

      Like

  11. Witmer is critic for Education and Wilson is critic for Training, Colleges & Universities.

    I am so upset by this news! I’m helping my son, who is in his 2nd year, pay for his education and living expenses. I dump it on my credit card and pay it off just in time to pay for the next year! As a single parent, there was never a chance to tuck money away. We will be in debt for years and now to find out that the taxes I pay will be given to a non-resident for a very expensive free education is just the last straw! This jackass we have for a premier has got to go, he just doesn’t have a clue!

    Like

  12. Pingback: Keep pressure on McGuinty re subsidizing foreign students « Crux of the Matter

Comments are closed.