Update to SunTV News & contacting your television provider

Update Sunday April 17th, 2011 at noon: Well, all the customer pressure has paid off. I guess enough people asked Cogeco Cable (Southern Ontario) to include SunTV News in their regular packages, that they have done so by putting it in the exact same location on the dial (Channel 16) as the regular SunTV. I hope it is similar for other carriers as well.

Well, I just turned on the regular SunTV channel and almost immediately an ad came up that was similar to the promotional video below (H/T Blue Like You) that SunNews would launch on April 18th — that’s tomorrow folks. I can hardly wait.

Yes, there will be progressive and liberal views. I mean David Akin and Warren Kinsella are both part of the SunNews team. But, when combined with both balanced and conservative views, like those of Ezra Levant, Brian Lilley and Charles Adler, Canadians will finally have a TV network that is not openly and unashamedly pro-Liberal.

Balance and fairness. That’s all we want. Real news. Hard questions asked of everyone. Two weeks left in this election campaign. SunNews couldn’t have launched at a better time.    

Note the two tweets (here and here) (H/T Joanne and Frmgrl at Blue Like You) that indicate SunNews goes live tomorrow either at 4pm or 4:30pm with Krista Erickson and Ezra Levant. Sounds great. Good luck Krista and Ezra!!! We’ll all be rooting for you both. What an exciting day it will be for the network and the country — an alternative to CTV and CBC.  

Further update, 3pm: Here is a Facebook SunNewsNetwork list of Ontario television providers. Looks like Eastlink is missing the boat.

[…]

Original post starts here: I agree with Charles Adler, that anyone who wants to be able to get SunTV News after its launch on April 18th, 2011, should contact their cable or satellite service immediately. Why? Because it seems most providers are simply waiting until they get enough demand. Well, let’s give them that demand. For example, when I contacted my provider today by telephone, the Cogeco Ontario telephone representative said, as far as she knew, they had no plans to offer SunTV News — even though they offer the regular SunTV channel. However, when I pushed a bit, saying I would change providers if they didn’t add it to a package or as an extra (and I will if there is an alternative), she agreed to forward my request to the applicable department.

So, my thanks to Adler for posting the following telephone numbers and website addresses for all the Canadian television providers on his Facebook.

Rogers: 1-888-ROGERS1 (764-3771) http://www.rogers.com

Shaw Direct: 1-866-782-7932 http://www.shawdirect.ca

Shaw Cable: 1-888-472-2222 http://www.shaw.ca

Cogeco Ontario: 1-866-261-4447 http://www.cogeco.ca

Cogeco Quebec: 1-866-921-5792 http://www.cogeco.ca

Eastlink: 1-888-345-1111 http://www.eastlink.ca

Bell TV: 310-BELL (2355) http://www.bell.ca

MTS: 1 (800) 883-2054 http://www.mts.ca

Telus: 1 866 558 2273 http://www.telus.ca

BellAliant: 1-866-425-4268 http://www.bellaliant.net

Sasktel: 1-888-773-2122 http://www.sasktel.com

Videotron: 1-877-512-0903 http://www.Videotron.com

Also, a H/T to Alberta Girl in a comment at Blue Like You, for letting us know about this information — particularly since I don’t have a Facebook account.

80 thoughts on “Update to SunTV News & contacting your television provider

  1. One of two things will allow me to watch SunTV News:

    1. I’ll be able to subscribe to it and the other 3 or 4 channels we watch in the house, and only those channels (no basic cable, no bundles. just a’la carte selection). We’d rather pay $5/channel for what we watch than $50 for a bundle of channels we don’t watch.

    2. It’s streamed on the internet (for pay or for free). Well…. assuming that the ISPs don’t get their way with the stupid billing practices.

    Like

  2. Yeah, the Shaw guy I talked to had also never heard of it – to be fair, they are call centre people, however he did go out of his way to go and find out and came back to say that they haven’t a decision now that they are apparently in talks.

    I told him to pass on that if they don’t have it I will be changing my carrier.

    Like

    • Jim — “Sight unseen?” No problem. I have seen the two all-news channels we have now — CTV and CBC — and don’t watch either of them anymore. In fact, of the couple of dozen channels I do get, I only watch a few — PSB, Discovery, History, Global, HGTV, and TVO — yet I am forced to pay for all the others.

      What I would like to be able to do is just pay a monthly fee for those few channels I do watch rather than be forced to pay for a “bundle” that someone else chooses for me.

      Like

  3. When asked if Sun TV News would be offered and how to subscribe, Rogers waffled. Their e mail reply advised, “Sun TV News is not currently available on our channel line up. We will be adding new channels to our Digital choice line up in the future. Information on any additional channels will be announced on Rogers.com, please check regularly for updates.”

    My reply noted that since 18 April was the Sun News start up and since they (Rogers) advised they would be adding new channels that I would have thought that they would have decided by now whether or not you will be adding this Network.

    Perhaps I am overly pessimistic but I am not hopeful that Rogers will offer Sun TV News anytime soon.

    Like

  4. I have a Shaw satellite dish and contacted them about it. She wrote back saying she had never heard of such a channel. I sent her some info as well as a request to have it offered. She told me my request had been registered. I hope a lot of people make a formal request.

    Like

  5. I will be contacting Bell since I have ExpressVu. I think most carriers will not be picking up SunTV News until mid to late May (after an election), and public outcry that way they help the left. The last thing the MSM want is to give the Conservatives a voice on TV after spending five years bashing them on TV.

    Like

  6. I called Cogeco in Peterborough and was informed, Sun TV News will be available when it premiers on April 18th in HD for no additional cost. They weren’t sure about regular digital, but suggested it more than likely would be.

    Like

    • Well, judging by the comments here, we are all going to have to do some individual lobbying. And, when they say “that’s the first I have heard of that channel,” be very suspicious. Unless they are in a call centre in another country. Most Canadian providers offer the regular SunTV channel, so there is no reason at all they can’t team that up with the all-news channel as they do for CBC/Newsworld and CTV/CTV News Net.

      Like

  7. I fired an email off to Shaw Direct about a week ago and they sent back this helpful info:

    “We are also proud to say that we will be offering Sun TV to our Shaw Direct customers. We are currently in the final stages of completing the negotiation. With that said, we can confirm that the channel will be available soon, but do not have a specific release date.”

    Like

  8. Sandy: I just read David Akin’s Tweet touting something Lisa LaFlamme said on CTV.

    Do you really think Sun TV is going to be anything different than the crap currently served up by the other channels?

    Like

    • Jim — Well, that’s Akin for you. However, there are others who will provide a different point of view. That’s all I am hoping for — some balance with a variety of opinions — not all the same anti-conservative faux scandals crap 24/7. The media has traditionally been hard on governing parties, but never in my living memory acted as they do now. The strange thing is that ordinary Canadians see it but the mainstream media folks don’t. I have a brother-in-law who is definitely NDP and even he and his wife say they can’t watch the news anymore. So, any alternative opinion would be good. I certainly don’t want a conservative rah rah channel. That’s not balance either.

      Brian Lilley is very balanced in my opinion and he will have his own show.

      Like

  9. I called Shaw and was told that they didn’t know whether they would be carrying it or not. I got on the Call me when you know list and also let them know that I’d be switching carriers if they didn’t provide it.

    I hadn’t thought that there was a possibility of denial of service until after the election might even be a possibility. Interesting

    Like

  10. I just called East Link customer service. She never heard of Sun TV News.I told her they heard of Al-Jazeera because I am paying for it. I asked if anyone else called about it and she said she personally didn’t speak to anyone about it.I asked if she would start a call back list to notify customers if it will be carried or a list to add interested customers names requesting it. She said she would speak to marketing about it. I told her the launch of Sun TV News is all over the internet,April 18th,& in newspapers and she better talk to the president because if it isn’t offered and here on launch day, and NOT AFTER AN ELECTION, I will be cancelling service with them along with a ton of my friends.I also told her I pay for CBC and I am sick of their lefty bias and can’t watch it anymore so get on the case now to have Sun TV News.
    Right now I am livid. I called there 6weeks ago and got the same reply. We never heard of it. I hope this isn’t going to be like the newspaper media, that won’t print letters to the editor about the so called faux scandal mis-information out there.Something is starting to stink here.

    Like

    • Well, Ontario Girl, I think something definitely is starting to stink. Take a look at my latest post — thanks to Alberta Girl. Now, even Amnesty International is getting involved in a anti-Harper facebook campaign. What that tells me is that the international aid community’s sense of entitlement is out of control. To heck with democracy I guess.

      I would imagine that SunTV News will have a live streaming site on the Internet. Which means, if necessary, we may have to watch TV in front of our computers. What a snow job!!! Collusion by all the current media. But, like you say, you can easily subscribe to Al-Jazeera.

      Like

  11. My reply from Shaw Direct. My reply..No SunTV News, my business goes elsewhere.

    Hello Greig,
    We can certainly assist you with this. We have limited information in regards to Sun TV News and we are unable to provide any specific information at this time. Please stay tuned to our website for details as they become available.
    If you have any further questions or concerns feel free to contact us! Please include any previous correspondence with your replies.

    Thank you for choosing Shaw Direct and have a great evening!
    Kavita – Contact Us

    Business Support
    SHAW ) Direct – 100% Digital Satellite TV
    Phone: 1-888-554-7827 (24/7/365) / Fax: 1-800-872-8219

    Like

    • It’s a good thing we are starting to do some lobbying for SunTV News. It seems that the exisiting providers would like to see it fail. Well, if Bell is reading this, this is your chance to take business away from the big cable companies. I would switch in a nano second if Cogeco does not offer it right out of the gate on April 18th. Because, putting it succinctly, its sabotage!

      Like

  12. I just phoned Rogers and the representative affected to have never heard of SunTV News. I suspect they have no plans to offer it on basic cable for Ottawa area. They do respond to a concerted public campaign, as they did change plans to switch the PBS shannel from Watertown to Detroit a few years ago. After a spirited campaign supported by the Ottawa Citizen, and many complaints they reluctantly did retain the Watertown channel.
    I doubt very much if the Citizen will be on board for this fight.

    Like

  13. But, like you say, you can easily subscribe to Al-Jazeera.

    I didn’t even subscribe to it. It automatically appeared as a channel on my TV.I NEVER watch it but its there and I pay for it.
    I am worried that the lefty’s are going to try every trick in the book not to have Sun TV on. If we do get it, there will be other hidden headaches to get it. If we do get it, will any of the media people or coalition members participate as guests to give it balance?
    This is feeling so wrong already.Banana Republic anyone?

    Like

  14. Pingback: Sun TV « Newsbeat1

  15. As an agent that works in a Canadian call center, I can understand the frustration that you’re all experiencing over this channel.

    If an agent tells you that they have never heard of the Sun TV News channel, please do not be suspicious. It does not necessarily mean that they are in another country. It simply means that they do not yet offer this channel, that is why they’re not familiarly with it.

    When you contact your provider, you do not have state harshly that you’re switching providers if they don’t offer this channel. All you have to do, is politely inform the agent, that a new channel will be launching shortly (give the information) and ask them to put through a channel request on your behalf. Done.

    This way of communicating is both pleasant for the agent and the customer. I hate to say this but if you’re hostile, there are some agents that take it to heart, say they have put through the request, but they really do not process anything. In the end, the choice is up to you, but I’m just notifying you of another option that works perfectly fine, and will result in 100% success rate.

    Like

  16. Maybe Sun TV News will be contacting all the cable suppliers themselves, when its closer to launch time. Its their product so its up to them to advertise it, if they want customers.I’m going to be patient, but I will check back next week to see if I hear anything different this time.

    Like

  17. I live in Atlantic Canada – have Bell ExpressVu – have been calling them every week since I heard of the launch – they never knew anything about it – I sent off emails – left messages to express my desire to obtain this channel – however we have 213 Sun TV now and the other day – I too saw the same advertisement that Blue Like You had on her site… I just called – Bell and was told – it WOULD BE ON 213 and Sun HD 1055 tomorrow. I have never been happier in my life! Good Luck and fight for this channel, we deserve it after years of liberal bias 24/7!….

    Like

    • Erieblue — What I would recommend you do is check out if the ordinary SunTV is on your service now. Because it seems what is happening is that whoever carries that channel will automatically be switched over to SunNewsNetwork. If you find it today, keep it on to see if you get the launch ad. If so, you’ll have it.

      Like

  18. I called Eastlink on Friday…3rd time. I also sent 4 emails. No response. She said she never heard of it. I told her they all tell me that, so she put me on hold, said she would get an answer, came back and said it depends on demand.I told her if they want to make money and not lose money they should carry it. I gave her my email address to notify me with any word on it, and said I don’t want it AFTER the election. I want it NOW. I said I was fed up with CBC….she said she can sympathize with me on that.So today is Sunday…no email back yet. She did ask if I had the sun channel.???
    Anyway…I believe this area will have SHAW as a supplier so i may have to switch. Will see what happens on Monday.

    Like

  19. This is the Shaw cable phone number if Eastlink gives us the run around…

    1-888-817-5365
    East link is $56 a month and Shaw is 1/2 that price…$29….I would pay anything for Sun TV News though because i plan on blocking CBC and CTV once i get Sun.

    Like

  20. Liberal fortress Toronto is about to get interesting. The regular SunTV station on Channel 15 becomes Sun News indefinitely. As long as it doesn’t come across as anything close to what the old Toronto 1 was, it’ll be great.

    Like

  21. The only thing we have ever asked is that both sides of the story be told. Now we will be heard. That is what terrifies the left. They know that if Canadians hear both sides of the issues that conservative values will thrive!

    Like

  22. I have rogers in Ottawa.I have one of their Personal recording boxes or whatever it is called.Just check the channel listing 66 and fast forward to Monday I think 5 am and you will see the news listings appear and all the listings for the day.Cheers

    Like

  23. I just got off the phone with Cogeco in Peterborough. They informed me that Sun News will not be offered in my area so I informed them that I wish to cancel my subscription as of today although I am obligated to pay for the next 30 days. That’s Okay, I figure it’s a small price to pay. I have called Shaw and should be hooked up with them next Friday. Hopefully Sun News will be streaming over the internet so I can at least see some of the programming while I wait for Shaw.

    Like

    • You know Doug — I suspect a few more doing what you are doing and Cogeco Peterborough will smarten up. I am soooo glad they didn’t do that in Niagara because there is only Bell as an alternative and I live in a condo apartment lowrise — not possible.

      Like

  24. Hit the guide button on your receiver remote.If you can find sun T.V. on your listing, then you will be getting sun news. Sun News is replacing Sun T.V.

    Like

  25. Unfortunately, Eastlink is the only provider in my area.

    I have Eastlink and I was told to call Shaw….it services Northern Ontario…Thunder Bay…Hearst…Kap..and a few other places….Its worth giving them a call tomorrow to inquire. You never know.

    1-888-817-5365

    Like

  26. I’m with “Videotron Quebecor Media”. Sun TV is not offered as part of a regular package (not yet anyway) but it can be included in a special package. I had to cancel one chain (I cancelled Mystery Chanal) to get Sun TV. I sent an E-Mail to all my friends (even my Liberal friends) with a link to this site and suggested they subscribe to Sun TV. I suggest everybody do the same.

    Like

  27. Did a 411 search for Shaw in Ontario….these are the towns it services…

    Thunder Bay (3)
    Fort Frances (2)
    Manitouwadge (2)
    Sault Saint Marie (2)
    Wawa (2)
    Atikokan (1)
    Dryden (1)
    GTA (1)
    Marathon (1)
    Terrace Bay (1)
    White River (1)
    York Region (1

    Looks like if Easlink doesn’t carry it I am out of luck.

    Like

  28. Ontario Girl — Just call 310-BELL and ask for Bell TV. It’s got to be available in the Sudbury area — I hope!

    But, if not, than Eastlink is going to lose so many customers elsewhere that it won’t be long and they have it.

    Betcha betcha!

    Like

  29. I just looked at channel 213- bell TV….Yes,Yes,Yes,….It’s there..programming such as First Look and The roudtable all set to kick off the day..

    Like

    • Interesting. I just turned on Cogeco’s Channel 16 and there it was. SunNews. And, a countdown 8:10:12. LOL They sure know how to make it exciting!

      Like

  30. Posted this on BLY but here’s the Eastlink news

    Just called Eastlink cable AGAIN. She said if you have sun channel it will be switching to Sun TV News. Eastlink doesn’t have it. It would be months before we would get it IF they decide to provide it…. there is a long process to go through like contracts would need to be signed, talks, demand..bla bla….same old stories. I told her people all over the internet are talking about Eastlink not having it and a lot of other cable co all over Ontario are providing it. I said they would be losing mega money because people will be cancelling their service with them. I mentioned BELL and she said…Go ahead and call them and do you want to cancel NOW?She was a bit on the snooty side. I said I would wait and see what other co. could accomadate me first….I also said I get CBC and Al Jesser which I don’t want and pay for so why not Sun TV? Anyway, bottom line forget it with Eastlink.
    I am going to call Bell and see what they say.

    Like

  31. I called Bell…They just do satellite service. They put it on your roof and a small attachment to your TV and you will get Sun TV News channel. You have to make an appt. for the guy to come and do it. Not sure if they allow anything on the roof here…I live in a condo building. Think I will just have to rely on updates from bloggers unless eastlink does something. Oh well…I tried.Very nice friendly customer service at bell, i should add.

    Like

  32. Got the same story from Eastlink this morning as well. If you are in area serviced by them (and no other provider)you are SOL. Still hoping that at least some Sun News programs will be streaming over the internet.

    Like

  33. Erieblue….check this out from an emil i sent to Shaw last night

    Just got this reply from my email to Shaw…looks like satellite??

    We certainly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to announce that we will be adding Sun News Network to our line-up on April 18th at 12pm(ET). You will be able to access Sun News on channel 517/149. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to let us know.

    Thank you,

    Maryse
    Business Support – Online Support
    SHAW) Direct – 100% Digital Satellite TV
    Suite 100, 2400 – 32nd Avenue NE Calgary, AB T2E 9A7
    Phone: 1.888.554.7827 Fax: 1.800.872.8219
    Follow us on Facebook or Twitter
    ACCOUNTABLE BALANCE CUSTOMER FOCUSED INTEGRITY LOYALTY POSITIVE, CAN DO ATTITUDE TEAM PLAYER

    Give them a call and see what they say???

    Like

  34. I called the shaw # posted above…its a satellite dish…has a box they put behind the TV…you need a flat screen TV HD…comes with one remote if you have one TV..You call and within a day or two they send over a rep to install it and they set up the channels. The box is on a 1/2 off price for $99 which has to be paid for by credit card when you call. No contract to sign and you will own the box. The first month is $50 off so you will pay $17, then $67.64 a month after that billed to you mail box. Also you get $50 of 8 free movies for a new customer. This satellite gives all the channels we have now and a total of 290 channels.The installation of the dish is free…no charge.They have offices all over Canada…i got a call centre in Montreal when I called. Very nice friendly person.

    Like

  35. I think the Shaw info. is 149 on Digital and 517 on Shaw Direct which is satellite. I know that channel 517 appeared in my guide early this am as I have satellite.

    Like

  36. Ontario Girl-That looks the way to go for those with no alternative to Eastlink. Next step for me will be trying to convince my landlord to let me put up a dish.

    Sounds like you got the same lady on the phone that I did. I got the impression I was putting a great strain on Eastlink’s resources.

    Like

  37. Ontario Girl-That looks the way to go for those with no alternative to Eastlink. Next step for me will be trying to convince my landlord to let me put up a dish.

    Sounds like you got the same lady on the phone that I did. I got the impression I was putting a great strain on Eastlink’s resources.

    The women I had was Rose. She gave me her employee number…I am seriously considering getting satellite…sick of Cpac,(I will just watch QP) CBC and CTV.(Delite) The call in show at CPAC is RIGGED totally. They don’t fool me.99% Liberals calls get through. Eastlink had 6 weeks or more and haven’t done a thing. To heck with them…if thats their customer service they can keep it.

    Like

  38. Is Shaw Direct the same as regular Shaw Basic Cable? I was wondering if anyone new the channel it will be on wih Shaw basic cable (the channels only go to 120)-For a friend.

    Like

  39. I believe someone up the list may have already mentioned this, but going through my Eastlink channel guide once more, there was Sun TV News on Ch.610…or where it would be. It is offered in HD only.

    Like

  40. I got this email so i called and left a message…maybe its not satellite?? Waiting to see if he calls back…will let you know..

    Good afternoon ,

    We do service XXXX, Ontario and would be very happy to have you as a new customer.

    With thanks,

    Ross (Voicemail 1866-2804503 ext 1944)

    Business Support – Contact Us:

    Shaw Direct – Shaw Communications Inc.

    24/7 Customer Care – 1-888-554-7827

    ACCOUNTABLE BALANCE CUSTOMER FOCUSED INTEGRITY LOYALTY POSITIVE, CAN DO ATTITUDE TEAM PLAYER

    When I put on channel 610 it just jumps back to the previous channel i am watching.

    Like

  41. The email from Ross at Shaw where I was told to leave a message is satellite…so I got another number to call from them for shaw basic cable ….I called but it was a 15 minute wait so i didn’t bother. Apparently they are BOGGED down with people calling for Sun cable today…here’s the shaw basic cable number to inquire if its in your area…

    1-888-472-2222

    Like

  42. Shaw basic cable is not in my area. The only way for me to get that is with satellite. Though, glad to hear lots of people are calling in.

    I am still trying to figure out what sort of game Eastlink is playing. First they never heard of Sun News, then they weren’t getting it, now it appears to be available in HD (in this area).

    Like

  43. First they never heard of Sun News, then they weren’t getting it, now it appears to be available in HD (in this area).

    Where did you hear that one?? I don’t have it.Do you have a channel for it??

    Like

  44. Ontario Girl-It is on Ch.610 here. I don’t have HDTV so I can’t actually watch it, but it is listed there in the guide and when I go to that channel I get the “not authorized” screen.

    You mentioned above that when you go to 610 it is jumping to the previous channel. I believe that means there is nothing on 610 in your area.

    Like

  45. You mentioned above that when you go to 610 it is jumping to the previous channel. I believe that means there is nothing on 610 in your area.

    Thanks anyway…guess I will have to wait for blogger updates till I figure out what to do this week ..boo hoo.

    Like

    • Ezra is amazing. He is going after the CBC’s VoteCompass poll and CRTC. He is so energetic. Part commentator, part stand up. Can carry a show all by himself. Amazing.

      Like

  46. Glad to hear that Ezra is amazing and that he’s going after the CBC and CRTC. I’m committed and know enough to win any argument about party to vote for.

    Found out that my receiver needs to be updated (29.95) and it will be 5-10 shipping days. Needless to say, I’m boiling. I could have done this weeks ago if I knew.

    Such is life.
    Pat

    Like

    • Just letting commenters know “not” to post Youtube URLs in a comment as WordPress.com does not allow javascript — meaning I have been having some major problems. Normally, when I post videos in my post area, I have to first convert to a compatible code.

      Like

Comments are closed.