Picture It! software “IS” now compatible with Windows 7

Update September 30, 2012.

I have noticed that this post is getting a lot of traffic so I thought I would do a brief update. It has been a full year since writing this but the good news is that My Picture It is still working on my Windows 7. However, it can be quite slow if you have a lot of images saved on your hard drive. So, I recommend trasferring your images to a pin drive. Other than that, however, there is no better software that I know of that can resize images so readily.

Now, why would anyone want to resize? Well, for those who have a blog or a website, they will need to resize an image to a certain size, such as this blog requires 984 pxl x 242 pxl for a “Header Image.”

  • So, prior to uploading the image to this blog, I go to Picture It’s window. Bring up the photo you want to resize. Then, go to Format on the Header Bar and click Resize. Tip: you cannot effectively resize both the width and the height at the same time (unless you don’t mind getting a white border). While at Resize, just click on pxl (which is after inches and centimeters) and enter the pxl width you want. In the example, it would be 984 pxl. Click on Done. Then save the file to a pin drive or DVD.
  • Then I go to the far left of the Picture It screen under Common Tasks and click on Crop.  First, slide over the image to get the same 984 pxl width you just got at Format, then adjust the height to 242 pxl. Simple move the 984 x 242 area until you are happy with how you want it cropped. Now, click on Done at the bottom left.
  • Then Save and you are ready to upload to a website.

Since my comments automatically close after 90 days, if a reader knows of software that is as good or better than Image Pro’s Picture It at resizing images, I would appreciate a message via http://www.twitter.com/cotmblog.

[…]

Original post starts here: Good news for Picture It users. Microsoft had obviously received so many complaints about Picture It! being incompatible with Windows 7 that they have quietly done one or more updates to make it possible to download Picture It! successfully. How do I know this?

Well, a couple of weeks ago I got a new PC and of course it included Windows 7 as the operating system. I tried to re-install my favourite photo imaging program “Picture It!” (version 7) also referred to as Microsoft Digital Image Pro, but it was a no-go as it was incompatible.  To say it was a disappointment would be an understatement given how important the resizing feature was to maintaining my blog. So, I seriously considered returning my computer to the store before the 15 day return period was up.

However, before I would do that, I decided to try some alternative photo imaging software. First, I experimented with the Windows 7 Live Photo Gallery and found it a bust. Next, I purchased Corel Paint Shop Photo. While it has some nice features, I found it simply couldn’t match Picture It! as far as resizing flexibility and accuracy. Interestingly, I did a Google search and found that many other users had come to the same conclusion.

Now, I was just about ready to head back to the store, when I had a hunch. My hunch was that, given how many upgrades there had been to Windows 7 in such a short time, combined with all the complaints about Picture It! incompatibility, I wondered if I should try to install it again. Well, surprise, surprise. I tried again yesterday and it was SUCCESSFUL!!!!!

Mind you, I did not jump for joy right away since I had to be sure it would work with newly downloaded photo images, as opposed to just those already stored on memory sticks.  Anyway, the good news is that everything worked exactly as before — apart from the headings and icons being a wee bit fuzzy to look at.

So, there you have it. It seems that the many disappointed voices of Picture It! fans were heard by Microsoft with the result that it is now compatible with Windows 7. However, before installing Picture It! again, I would recommend users make sure all their Windows 7 updates are actually up to date.

2 thoughts on “Picture It! software “IS” now compatible with Windows 7

  1. After using my Picture It program, I went to the store and also have tried to download manipulated pics to several programs to print my photos. I have found after manipulating the pictures and I go to print the final product (8 x10) that it is cutting off the edges of the picture when trying to print a landscape photo. Does anyone know how to change this so when I save the pictures to a cd, people will be able to print the final photo. Thank you!

    Like

  2. Michele — I’m no computer expert but that has happened to me too. What I did was OPEN the photo to be printed, go to the FILE command and look for the three PRINT options for Picture It — PRINT, PRINT ALL and PRINT SPECIAL. Click on PRINT SPECIAL and you will see a menu of choices, then NEXT and voila there are all the possible photo image set ups, either in portrait or landscape. Then, simply click on 8×10 and it should print with white borders — if not totally even, at least saveable on a cd.

    Hope this helps. Good luck.

    Like

Comments are closed.