Autistic Sinclair Coffers denied H.S. grad in Georgia type of institutional bullying

At first glance, it sounds like the people in the Fulton County, Georgia school district have no compassion, and that is certainly true. But, it is actually worse than that. The issue is that Sinclair Coffers, a student who has allegedly done well in all his high school subjects, apart from math, is not being allowed to graduate from Grade 12.

The problem? Successful completion of math is compulsory in the U.S. State of Georgia.  And, since Coffers is being told he cannot graduate without math, he, his family and those who would advocate on his behalf, are saying it is the school district (via the law) that are blocking his graduation.

Now, we can argue that expectations should not be watered-down for anyone. However, the relevant issue in this case is not that this young man cannot complete his math exam, the issue is that Fulton County officials have provided waivers to other exceptional students in the past that allowed them to graduate.

So, either Fulton County authorities tell the full reason they are not granting Coffers a waiver or they remove the option of a waiver altogether from everyone. Because it is not fair or compassionate to allow some students with exceptionalities to graduate and not others.

However, if it is more than the math, then Sinclair Coffers and his family deserve to know the full truth. In fact, I would go so far as to say that withholding the reason for denying the waiver, as well as not allowing the waiver in the first place, are a type of institutional bullying.

4 thoughts on “Autistic Sinclair Coffers denied H.S. grad in Georgia type of institutional bullying

  1. My experience with high level autistics suggests that Coffers is probably the most capable of all involved but he is a square peg they are trying to force into round holes. I quit teaching (the job description, not the adult duty) years ago because I found that schools waste so much of the students’ talents and time. Must it always be true that formal education is out of touch and out of date?

    Like

  2. My experience with high level autistics suggests that Coffers is probably the most capable of all involved but he is a square peg they are trying to force into round holes. I quit teaching (the job description, not the adult duty) years ago because I found that schools waste so much of the students’ talents and time. Must it always be true that formal education is out of touch and out of date?

    Like

  3. Interesting you should make that comparison Dollops. I always felt I was a round peg trying to fit in a square hole, or vice versa, even when I was teaching at the university level. Not because of the students, but because of the left wing culture of my colleagues. Of course, I didn’t know why I didn’t fit in because in those days, I pretty much ignored politics. It wasn’t until I went to work for the Mike Harris era MPP that it became obvious.

    That said, I am probably further to the left on some issues than most conservatives. Fiscally conservative but socially progressive is how most would describe it. But, even that is not exact. I have no problem with SSM but do not agree with abortion unless the mother’s life is in physical danger. Afterall, I have an adopted daughter!

    Like

  4. Interesting you should make that comparison Dollops. I always felt I was a round peg trying to fit in a square hole, or vice versa, even when I was teaching at the university level. Not because of the students, but because of the left wing culture of my colleagues. Of course, I didn’t know why I didn’t fit in because in those days, I pretty much ignored politics. It wasn’t until I went to work for the Mike Harris era MPP that it became obvious.

    That said, I am probably further to the left on some issues than most conservatives. Fiscally conservative but socially progressive is how most would describe it. But, even that is not exact. I have no problem with SSM but do not agree with abortion unless the mother’s life is in physical danger. Afterall, I have an adopted daughter!

    Like

Comments are closed.