Hallelujah Chorus by Kings College Choir, Cambridge celebrates Easter!

Happy Easter everyone!

I hope visitors to Cotm enjoy the above YouTube of the men and boys Choir at King’s College, Cambridge singing George Frideric Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus. The Chorus, which is sung at the end of Part 2 of the Oratorio, proclaims the risen Lord, Jesus Christ.

The reason I chose this rendition of all male voices is that it likely most closely resembles what the singing sounded like in 1741 when Handel composed it.

6 thoughts on “Hallelujah Chorus by Kings College Choir, Cambridge celebrates Easter!

  1. Love this work Sandy. Blessings to you and your family on this most Holy Time, Funny isn’t it how some of the most profound ideas are expressed with the help of music. There is a line in Jesus Christ Superstar that ties in Maundy Thursday and Christ’s prayer in Gethsemane. I always found this profound.
    Why then am I scared to finish what I started?
    What you started, I didn’t start it

    Like

  2. Bettie — I thought the trumpets were interesting too, the way they were showcased. The other interesting fact was that the boys had the soprano voices.

    Like

  3. Being an old trumpet player I wished I could have seen which baroque trumpets they were playing. Being Handel and his adopted Britishness I suspect they were three hole trumpets.

    Like

Comments are closed.