Lisa Raitt’s condemnation of Kellie Leitch a disappointment

lisa-raitt-2What in heavens name is wrong with Conservative MP Lisa Raitt that she doesn’t see that Canadian conservatives are just as disgusted and fed up with political correctness as our cousins in the U.S.?

Believe it or not, Raitt is actually quoted in the Toronto Sun as saying that Leitch was race baiting and using cheap talk by insisting on the individual vetting of newcomers from Middle East countries — particularly refugees who have no papers! (H/T NewsWatchCanada)

Race baiting? Cheap talk?

Here is what Leitch actually says: (H/T Jack’s Newswatch)

All I’m advocating for is that when you go back to what we used to do in this country, that we meet every immigrant coming to the country, have a face to face interview, and ask them about Canadian values. I don’t think that’s asking too much and two-thirds of Canadians, average Canadians, agree with me…..

I don’t see any race baiting in that statement. Which makes me wonder how on Earth Raitt can make such arrogant and disgusting remarks about her colleague and fellow contestant Leitch.

Our world is under siege by Islamic terrorists and Raitt doesn’t think we should screen for those who might want to do us harm. I mean, there are millions of Muslims living peacefully in Canada. That’s fine. They know who they are. However, that doesn’t mean that Muslims coming into this country from the Middle East today want to live the same way.

Anyway, listen to what Raitt says to the Sun’s Bonokowski:

According to Raitt, Harper did not become the longest-serving Conservative prime minister since John A. Macdonald by being out of touch with the values and concerns of Canadian families.

“We were also thoughtful about how Canadians would hear our words,” Raitt said.

“We knew that the only path to victory was a united and inclusive party focused on improving the lives of ordinary Canadians….”

“If we want to bring conservative ideas back to government in 2019, we need a leader who can beat Justin Trudeau,” Raitt said.

“…Leitch can’t.

So Canadians deserve a candidate who is willing to stand up to them and their cheap talk.

“I will,” she vowed.

The crux of the matter is that most of the Conservative Leadership candidates are like the Democrats in the U.S. They have not only bought into identity politics and political correctness, they are living in an Ottawa bubble, completely unaware of what Canadian conservatives want in their next leader — someone who is sufficiently different from Justin Trudeau that they can offer a winnable alternative message.

What we don’t need is another “sunny ways” leader who ignores our need for security and safety so as not to offend anyone.

One thing is for sure, Lisa Raitt just lost my May 27th, 2017 vote for the leadership. While I like Kellie Leitch for the very reasons Raitt condemns her, I really hope that there is a “race” and that candidates like Erin O’Toole and Andrew Scheer do not fall into the same Liberal Lite politically correct rabbit hole as Raitt.

 

13 thoughts on “Lisa Raitt’s condemnation of Kellie Leitch a disappointment

  1. “The crux of the matter is that most of the Conservative Leadership candidates are like the Democrats in the U.S. They have not only bought into identity politics and political correctness, they are living in an Ottawa bubble, completely unaware of what Canadian conservatives want in their next leader — someone who is sufficiently different from Justin Trudeau that they can offer a winnable alternative message.”

    That is an excellent summation,Sandy. And that is exactly why so many of us conservatives are in despair over the choice we have so far. Just spoke with my former CPC MP at a Christmas concert,he likes Leitch too,but remarked, “she can’t beat Justin”,and on that point,he’s right.
    And neither can Lisa Raitt. Maybe Maxime Bernier can,but a lot will depend on how badly the economy is managed the next year.
    I have had no use for Lisa Raitt since the day she rescued a drunken Elizabeth May at the PPG dinner. Raitt preferred to save the reputation of one of the CPC’s most virulent enemies, rather than let a fellow woman politician make a complete and utter fool of herself. Harper should have removed her from cabinet after that episode.

    Raitt should cross the floor to her more natural environment,the Liberal side. Raitt is truly Liberal-not-so-light, and her statements lately on Trump and Leitch reveal she is the worst of all the CPC leadership candidates.

    Like

  2. Hi Sandy, I must say your view of Dr. Leitch is far kinder than mine. I see an until-very-recently-Red-Tory elite trying desperately to be noticed by pretending to be a Trump-north hard-right something or other. So far, she’s shown me nothing I’d go out of my way to vote for. Not being political correct isn’t enough to get my vote. She seems like a phoney to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And that tells me everything I need to know about you, Russ. Red Tory to the core and exactly what Canada does not need going forward. We’ve had quite enough of that bullshit.

      Two liberal parties are two to many.

      Like

      1. Actually Jack, Russ is a really good guy. He has been on the BT Aggregator as long as I have — although my posts are not going up anymore for some reason. Also, I know from his previous writings, he is not a progressive over being a fiscal conservative.

        Like

      2. Ouch Jack — As I just said to Russ, let’s not split the CPC in two again. Yes, there are some Red Tories and yes there are Reformers but we are all conservatives. However, what Russ has done by calling Leitch hard-right names is get into the same nasty politically correct identify politics as the Liberals.

        My advice is for everyone to stay cool — and that includes Lisa Raitt.

        Like

      3. Jack, whoever the heck you are, I’m a conservative and have been one since the late-1960s. I’ve voted PC, Reform or CPC in every federal and provincial election since then and served on a PC riding board of directors. I’ve worked on several election campaigns in various capacities and always for a conservative or PC candidate. *My* political and social views are regularly expressed under my full name for all to see and judge and have been for years. And while I put my country before my party (so like to see both sides of all issues) and am not a member of any organized religion, I am not any form of light liberal. I am a PC, as have been many conservatives before me who had wide appeal as effective statemen and successful politicians. I don’t need lessons on what it takes to be a conservative from you, whoever you are.

        Like

      4. Jack is the owner and operator of Jack’s Newswatch. Like yourself, he is really good man who, like many of us, is simply very frustrated. All we want is some decent conservative oriented leadership candidates. It is really unfortunate that Peter MacKay didn’t want to run since he straddled the two camps. So, did Stephen Harper.

        Like

    2. Actually Russ, Jack may be tough but he has a point. By calling Leitch a Trump-hard-righter, you have bought the liberal identify politics bug. Leitch is definitely not hard right just because she wants to vet immigrants and refugees to make sure they accept such values as gender equality. Jack owns and operates Jack’s Newswatch and has for years and is daily exposed to progressive notions. In other words, I would recommend you be cautious about your name calling of Leitch because there are a great many conservatives who like her message and they are not all hard right.

      What all this says to me, including Raitt’s rant about race baiting is that the conservative party is very close to splitting into two camps again. Leadership candidates and their supporters had better be very careful about infighting like this.

      Like

      1. I think probably the best reason to not get too worried about the party splitting is in every province except Alberta the right is united so that says to me something dramatic has to happen for a split. I think the bigger risk is more to avoid the kind of infighting the Liberals had in the 90s between the Chretien and Martin camp. The party didn’t split, but it tooks its toll on the party. Leadership races always involve a certain amount of attacking candidates, but usually once the leader is chosen the party comes together. I think all sides need to realize its going to be a give and take as any successful party must be a big tent one where you are going to get some differences, but what matters is you agree on far more than disagree.

        Like

  3. Jack and Russ, I deleted a couple of comments because I put them in the wrong places. What I was trying to say is that you are both good men and long time conservatives who are both frustrated with the way the CPC leadership is going. Obviously emotions are running almost as high as in the U.S. Trump is going to make a great president and all the name calling is going to just make the name callers look bad. I don’t want the same result here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

